Zimbabwe’s Soccer Stars of the Year – 1980 to Present; Checkout which club dominates

Spread the love

IN Zimbabwe the Soccer Star of the Year Award has been handed out annually since 1969, starting with the legendary George Shaya right up to defending league champions Ngezi Platinum’s Qadr Amini last season.

By Bhora Afrika

Below, bhorafrika.com lists winners of the coveted trophy from 1980.

The chart below shows how teams from Harare have dominated local football having claimed the gong 23 times out of 40. Dynamos, Caps United, Motor Action, Black Rhinos, Black Mambas, Black Aces and Gunners have all contributed to the figure.

Highlanders, Zimbabwe Saints, Njube Sundowns and Chicken Inn have contributed to Bulawayo’s eight.

Dynamos and players have won it nine times, Bosso has had the trophy taken to Bulawayo four times while Caps United is just one short of the Dynamos record on eight.

Army side Black Rhinos, Police side Black Mambas, Air Force side Chapungu, Black Aces, Gunners, Chicken Inn, Njube Sundowns, now defunct Zisco Steel, Hwange, Ngezi Platinum have won it once each.

The 1997/98 awards were abandoned after controversy marred the selection process.

A global pandemic, Covid-19, led to suspension of the topflight league in 2020 hence the absence of a winner on the list below.

Check it out;

YearNameClub (TOWN)
1980David MandigoraDynamos FC (HARARE)
1981Stanley NdundumaCaps United FC (HARARE)
1982Japhet MparutsaDynamos FC (HARARE)
1983Ephert LunguRio Tinto FC (KADOMA)
1984James TakavadaZisco Steel FC (REDCLIFF)
1985Stanley NdundumaBlack Rhinos FC (HARARE)
1986Moses ChungaDynamos FC (HARARE)
1987Mercedes SibandaHighlanders FC (BULAWAYO)
1988Ephraim ChawandaZimbabwe Saints FC (BULAWAYO)
1989Masimba DinyeroBlack Mambas FC (HARARE)
1990George NechirongaCaps United FC (HARARE)
1991Peter NdlovuHighlanders FC (BULAWAYO)
1992Wilfred MugeyiBlack Aces FC (HARARE)
1993Agent SawuZimbabwe Saints FC (BULAWAYO)
1994Memory MucherahowaDynamos FC (HARARE)
1995Tauya MurewaDynamos FC (HARARE)
1996Stewart MurisaCaps United FC (HARARE)
1997Walter ChumaHwange FC (HWANGE)
2000Zenzo MoyoHighlanders FC (BULAWAYO)
2001Maxwell DubeChapungu FC (GWERU)
2002Dazzy KapenyaHighlanders FC (BULAWAYO)
2003Energy MurambadoroCaps United FC (HARARE)
2004Cephas ChimedzaCaps United FC (HARARE)
2005Joseph KamwendoCaps United FC (HARARE)
2006Clemence MatawuMotor Action FC (HARARE)
2007Murape MurapeDynamos FC (HARARE)
2008Evans ChikwaikwaiNjube Sundowns FC (BULAWAYO)
2009Ramson ZhuwawoGunners FC (HARARE)
2010Charles SibandaMotor Action FC (HARARE)
2011Washington ArubiDynamos FC (HARARE)
2012Denver MukambaDynamos FC (HARARE)
2013Tawanda MuparatiDynamos FC (HARARE)
2014Dennis DaudaZPC Kariba FC (KARIBA)
2015Danny PhiriChicken Inn FC (BULAWAYO)
2016Hardlife ZvirekwiCaps United FC (HARARE)
2017Rodwell ChinyengetereFC Platinum (ZVISHAVANE)
2018Rodwell ChinyengetereFC Platinum (ZVISHAVANE)
2019Joel NgodzoCaps United FC (HARARE)
21/22Walter MusonaFC Platinum (ZVISHAVANE)
2023Qadr Amini (C)Ngezi Platinum Stars FC (NGEZI)
*This list is correct as at 19 January 2024

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *